Rishi Sunak became the 57th Prime Minister on Tuesday and one of his first duties is to select a cabinet.

But what do they do?

The Cabinet is a group of around 20 members that each have separate roles which manage different areas of the country.

Some of these cabinet members are in charge of large departments:

Chancellor of the exchequer:

  • Widely regarded as the second most powerful person in the country. The Chancellor is the minister at the head of the treasury, which is responsible for the country’s money.
  • This position is now held by Jeremy Hunt.
Photo by Dan Kitwood/Getty Images

Home Secretary

  • This is held by Suella Braverman
  • She is now responsible for all national security, immigration and policing matters.
  • She will run the home office.
Photo by ADRIAN DENNIS/AFP via Getty Images

Defence Secretary

  • Has been held by Ben Wallace since Boris Johnson became Prime Minister in 2019.
  • They are in charge of the nation’s defence and has a voice in foreign policy.
Photo by Ian Forsyth – Pool/Getty Images

Education Secretary

  • Held by Gillian Keegan, who became the fifth in four months.
  • She has control over education policy and is responsible for the national curriculum and schools development.

Health Secretary

  • Responsible for the running of the department of Health and Social Care.
  • This includes oversight of the English NHS.
  • Also is responsible with international health partnership (WHO).
  • Currently held by Steve Barclay.
Photo by Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images

In Rishi Sunak’s new cabinet there are seven women and five people of colour, including the Prime Minister.